Barons Court

The tracks through Barons Court were first opened on 9 September 1874 when the District Railway opened an extension from Earl’s Court to Hammersmith. The station building was constructed to a design by Harry Ford in a style similar to that used at Earl’s Court and Hammersmith and is now a Grade ll listed structure, as it retains many of its original features, including terracotta faience and the only example of Doulton Ceramic Tiles to be found on the Underground network. In 2012 Craven Dunnill Jackfield replicated many of the original profiles and glazes to replace damaged and missing tiles, allowing for ongoing maintenance to this stunning ticket hall.